Game of Thrones Takes 4 Portal Awards; Maisie Williams Grabs 2

arya8-300x164If 6 Creative Arts Emmy’s over the weekend wasn’t enough, Game of Thrones has now taken home 4 Portal Awards for the hit fantasy series’ second season, including Best Television Series. Young actress Maisie Williams (Arya Stark) took home 2 awards and Lena Headey (Cersei Lannister) took home 1. The 15 year old Williams had a dazzling follow up performance to what was already a terrific first season, and she is now the youngest actor to take home a Portal Award since they started in 1999. The categories that she won awards for include best Supporting Actress/Television and Best Young Actor, which replaces Daniel Radcliffe who has won that  category four times in the past. I’m not sure if this is the first award won Maisie has won, but it certainly won’t be the last.

Airlock Alpha created the SyFy Genre Awards in 1999, which has handed out awards for the Sci-Fi/Fantasy genre  in television and movies nearly every year since. Later, renamed the Portal Awards, for over 13 years it remained popular due to it’s fan-based voting system.  The Portal Awards typically consist of both GenreNexus staff and members of the fan community and they hold the distinction of being the longest running genre awards given out for movies, television, and online productions.

Here is a list of the four Portal Awards won by Game of Thrones:

  • Best Series/Television -Game of Thrones
  • Best Supporting Actress/Television – Maisie Williams
  • Best Young Actor – Maisie Williams
  • Best Actress/Television – Lena Headey

We want to extend a HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to Maisie Williams, Lena Headey, and all the other Game of Thrones cast and crew for the Awards!! Keep giving us more guys, we love it!!


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *